If the whites of your eyes...

Tazlima

Registered
Reaction score
suddenly turned black (I mean the whole eyeball, not just the visible parts), would it affect your vision? If so, how?

This change is not caused by necrosis or anything. It's simply a bizarre shift in pigmentation.

mirandashell

Banned
Reaction score
I don't think so. The light goes through the hole in the front and hits a nerve at the back. Then your brain interprets the signal. So I don't think the colour of your eyeball makes a difference?

But I'm no expert on this.

Amadan

Banned
Reaction score
I'm not an ophthalmologist, but I think vision is a function of light passing through the lens of the pupil to the optic nerve; the "whites" are just the vitreous humor. I'm not sure how that could turn black without it indicating something really bad (there's no pigmentation in there), but I don't think it would directly affect vision.

DeleyanLee

Writing Anarchist
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I saw a show where two inmates had tattooed the whites of their eyes different color. I think it was a gang thing, but I don't remember. One guy tat'd black and one guy tat'd red. They looked really weird. The guy with the red eyes was out and about and was making money tattooing other people's whites various colors.

From what I recall of the show (you might find some part of it on Youtube), their vision was not effected.

buz

edits all posts at least four times
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score