PDA

View Full Version : Burris, Skylar Hamilton



Ralyks
02-18-2006, 03:59 PM
Title: Conviction: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice

Author(s): Skylar Hamilton Burris

Publication Date: September 21, 2006

Publisher: Double Edge Press

Format: Print (Also availabe in E-book editions)

ISBN: 0977445232

Price: $16.51

Logline: (one-paragraph description): Conviction, a satirical, original sequel to Jane Austen's timeless classic Pride and Prejudice, reveals the romantic destiny of Georgiana Darcy. Yet the author does not rest on the laurels of Austen; she introduces an entirely new cast of characters, including an ambitious soldier, a wistful vicar, a flirtatious abolitionist, and an ordinary curate. The fates of these characters intertwine as each struggles to find the conviction to live out his or her own calling, while confronting issues of loyalty, courage, faith, and love. Conviction is not a novel merely for fans of Pride and Prejudice, but for all who take part in the ordinary struggles of humanity.

Link: Conviction (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0977445232/theelusiveskylar/)

Link to author's website: Skylar's Website (http://www.editorskylar.com/)

Link(s) to author's threads in other library categories: A Greater Sound By Far (http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=27577) (poetry)

Ralyks
01-23-2009, 04:39 AM
Title: An Unlikely Missionary

Author(s): Skylar Hamilton Burris

Publication Date: January 2009

Publisher: Double Edge Press

Format: Print


ISBN:9780981951409

Price: $21.95 (cover; 45% off if bought from publisher; discounts and Amazon & B&N as well)

Logline: (one-paragraph description): An Unlikely Missionary shines a spotlight on one of Jane Austen's lesser characters, the practical Charlotte Collins. When she is unexpectedly sent as a missionary to India, Charlotte must learn that security is not the highest value. Join Mrs. Collins as she embarks on her unlikely journey, traversing a path beset with comedy, mystery, tragedy, and joy.

Link: An Unlikely Missionary (http://www.literatureclassics.com/ancientpaths/unlikely2.html)

Link to author's website: Skylar's Website (http://www.editorskylar.com/)

Link(s) to author's threads in other library categories: A Greater Sound By Far (http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=27577) (poetry)

Ralyks
03-26-2012, 01:39 AM
Title: The Strange Marriage of Anne de Bourgh

Author(s): Skylar Hamilton Burris

Publication Date: October 2010

Publisher: CreateSpace

Format: Print


ISBN:1453851623

Price: $6.99

Logline: (one-paragraph description): This charming collection from the author of two popular Pride and Prejudice sequels continues the stories of Anne de Bourgh, Lady Catherine, and Mr. and Mrs. Darcy with light humor and engaging romance.


Link: The Strange Marriage of Anne de Bourgh (http://www.amazon.com/Strange-Marriage-Anne-Bourgh-Prejudice/dp/1453851623)

Link to author's website: Skylar's Website (http://www.editorskylar.com/)

Link(s) to author's threads in other library categories: A Greater Sound By Far (http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=27577) (poetry)

Ralyks
02-19-2015, 12:36 AM
Title: When the Heart Is Laid Bare

Author(s): Skylar Hamilton Burris

Publication Date: December 2014

Publisher: Double Edge Press

Format: Print & Kindle

ISBN:1938002210 ASIN: B00R1ILV6G

Price: $14.07 print; $4.99 Kindle

Logline:

Coach Calder Johnson's wife has, according to the hospital social worker, expired. Expired. Like a credit card. Not like a human being. Calder hasn't had a true friend, other than his wife, in twenty-four years. So if he's going to heal, he'll have to learn to let someone inside. Unfortunately, Calder's catalog of potential friends swells with unlikely candidates. There's Jacoby Reynolds, the blunt Anglican priest who watched his wife die, and Lynn McIntire, the beautiful but strangely efficient single mother next door. Then there's Justin Robinson, an embittered teen Calder wants to recruit for his high school football team. Enter also Connie Myers, the new Calvert High principal, an attractive yet hard-edged woman who's determined to shake up the status quo. Only when Coach Johnson's heart is finally laid bare will he learn that you can find friendship—and love—in the most unexpected places.

Link: When the Heart Is Laid Bare (http://www.amazon.com/When-Heart-Is-Laid-Bare/dp/1938002210/)

Link to author's website: Skylar's Website (http://www.editorskylar.com/)

Link(s) to author's threads in other library categories: A Greater Sound By Far (http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=27577) (poetry)