Submitting an already published book to the US Market

Grenouille Bleue

Love, love me do
Registered
Reaction score
Greetings,

I am a french published author, and am really lucky to be doing pretty well in France (got three books published, two more due in January). One of them got an award and sold more than 30,000. It might seem very low for you folks in the US but it's pretty nice for France. At least my publisher seems happy ( :D ) and it allowed me to quit my job and be a full-time writer.

Anyway, here's the thing: my publisher will be trying to sell the foreign rights to some other countries at the Berlin Fair, and he thinks it might make it in spanish and german. But he told me the english market was much more difficult to penetrate - only the biggest french best-sellers would get a chance to be bought and translated. Obviously, this isn't my case.

I don't want to quit so easily, since I believe (me being the obnoxious egocentric ego-maniac jerk I am :D ) that my books might interest the US readers. So I was wondering what my first move should be.

- Forget about it and get packing ?
- Try and find an effective agent in the US ?
- Get the book translated in english THEN send it to an agent ?
- Find a lonely publisher daughter to sleep with ?

I know I'm grasping for straws here, but I don't know the US market AT ALL and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot for your time !

SaraP

You can't forget those you've loved
Registered
Reaction score
We had a member ask a similar question regarding the German market. I'm hoping someone might be able to help this time, as I personally have no idea how this would be done.

Have you discussed this with the publisher, or do they just want to let it drop?

Do let us know how it goes!

Drachen Jager

Professor of applied misanthropy
Registered
Reaction score