PDA

View Full Version : Query a senior agent, get a response from a junior

bookishjen
08-03-2013, 07:57 AM
Hello, I had an odd experience this week and wanted to see if anyone had thoughts. I'm new to AW, so if this post is in the wrong place, please let me know.

I received two requests for my manuscript this week, and in both instances I queried one agent but heard back from another. Neither request made mention of the (dream) agent I queried. In both instances the requesting agents are new -- one has been active for six months and the other is an assistant that I assume is an agent-to-be.

It's an interesting purgatory between request and rejection, and I am not quite sure what I should make of it. I've received other requests from established agents -- would there ever be a reason to go with a new agent at a good agency as opposed to an established agent at a (different) good agency? Does the referral to the new agent by the dream agent count for anything other than the fact they obviously would prefer not to take on my book? :)

Any input would be really appreciated! Thank you!

frankiebrown
08-03-2013, 08:31 AM
I've gotten several requests from assistants and junior agents. I don't think it's anything to be turned off about. As a matter of fact, many slush piles are managed by unpaid interns. Unless the request letter specifically says it's a referral, and not a request by the junior agent on behalf of the senior one, I wouldn't be worried.

bookishjen
08-03-2013, 09:41 AM
I've gotten several requests from assistants and junior agents. I don't think it's anything to be turned off about. As a matter of fact, many slush piles are managed by unpaid interns. Unless the request letter specifically says it's a referral, and not a request by the junior agent on behalf of the senior one, I wouldn't be worried.