Do you ever want to quit?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gettingby

Registered
Reaction score
I thought I was taking a break, but now I'm just not sure I want to do it anymore. I thought I was really going to tap into my potential and become good at this. But a year and a half later my fiction isn't all that great. Before writing fiction, I was a journalist for ten years so I wasn't starting from scratch. I feel like I'm losing my drive. I don't really know what to do about any of this. I feel sad over it. Have any of you experienced these sort of feelings? Do you ever think maybe this is not my calling?

gothicangel

Toughen up.
Registered
Reaction score
I thought I was taking a break, but now I'm just not sure I want to do it anymore. I thought I was really going to tap into my potential and become good at this. But a year and a half later my fiction isn't all that great. Before writing fiction, I was a journalist for ten years so I wasn't starting from scratch. I feel like I'm losing my drive. I don't really know what to do about any of this. I feel sad over it. Have any of you experienced these sort of feelings? Do you ever think maybe this is not my calling?

A year and a half is nothing. I think it took me at least ten years of writing to get good at this. Don't expect to be brilliant so soon, its not like an 18 month old kid can recite their multiplication tables, is it?

Ken

Banned
Kind Benefactor
Reaction score
... a year and a half is a drop in the bucket.
It takes much longer than that for most.
Journalism is writing, but it is quite different
than fiction. So overall, you seem to be setting
deadlines that are a bit unrealistic. Everyone
wants to make it quickly. But the fact of the
matter is that few do. For most it is a long
and arduous journey. So cheer up and have at it.

Susan Coffin

Tell it like it Is
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.strokingthepen.com
GB,