Bad news, Good news! (With a bonus question)

BlueBadger

Knows notebooks can kill.
Registered
Reaction score
Bad news! I pitched an idea about the proper procedure for cutting a dog's nails to AKC Family Dog and recieved a response telling me that an article on a similar topic had just been published.

Good news! The Editor encouraged me to pitch future ideas to her direct email address.

Thinking back to my big fat article idea though, I want to smack myself. Most dog owners fret about cutting nails, so it's no wonder that the magazine has already covered the topic.

As I said before, I'm new to the world of writing for animal magazines, so I'm just wondering about how you come up with topics that haven't been explored to death...?

Fern

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
Good job on getting encouragement to pitch future ideas!

Now go pitch that same idea to another publication, then start brainstorming.

Write down what you know about dogs, then break each item down into sub headings.

Like the toenail thing. . .are there dangers in cutting them improperly? I know people sometimes get serious infections from having their nails done at a salon that doesn't do it right, so maybe there is something like that to slant a nail article on dogs.

I know a guy whose dog died after having it dipped at a grooming place. It was matted badly so they had to cut it very short. . .had a few nicks & cuts and the groomer suggested waiting until it healed before dipping it, but the owner thought it would be alright. It wasn't.

So one could do an article on safety procedures when dipping dogs and then another "round up" of things that can go wrong when having your dog groomed.

There is an organizational chart feature in Microsoft Word if you have Word that works well to break subjects down.

awatkins

Not harboring illegal parrot
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.geocities.com