PDA

View Full Version : Feedback for book cover design website?

Natasa
07-20-2013, 04:34 PM
Hi everyone, I'm a freelance book cover designer I've just set up my website at Chocolate Covers (http://chocolatecovers.wordpress.com/) and would like some opinions on the FAQ/How it Works pages and whether any points of my contract are iffy and need changes/additions or further clarification.

Having read this extremely helpful post (http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showpost.php?p=8153227&postcount=2), I'm most worried about not demanding payment up front, but given that I'm a newbie to the field and an unknown name I figured the chances of finding a client will plummet if I do demand it. Once I've gotten a few testimonials and have a bit more experience I think I can safely switch to having up front payment. Does this line of thought seem reasonable, or should I demand it from the start?

Besides that concern, if there's any other feedback/critique regarding the rest of my website I will gladly accept it.

ETA. I'm fairly sure this is the place to post this, but if not, mods feel free to move this to the correct subforum ^-^

girlyswot
07-20-2013, 06:17 PM
I wonder if you would be better asking for the $25 non-refundable deposit in advance, rather than expecting people to pay it if they choose to withdraw from the project.

girlyswot
07-20-2013, 06:18 PM
Also, I thought your website made it look as though you design children's book covers. Cute animals, but they don't seem to relate to your business.

Natasa
07-20-2013, 06:30 PM
I wonder if you would be better asking for the $25 non-refundable deposit in advance, rather than expecting people to pay it if they choose to withdraw from the project.