Bow and Crossbow questions

reddirtwriter

Registered
Reaction score
Website
reddirtwriter.tumblr.com
I have a few questions about bow and crossbows. These would be traditional weapons, not modern.

Would a longbow be expected for someone who does not fight or hunt mounted on an animal?

Short recurve bows are used from horseback?

Crossbows take less skill relative to a longbow?

Crossbows are much slower to reload than someone shooting a longbow?

Didn't intend to ask leading questions, but I wanted to double check my information.

Patrick.S

Registered
Reaction score
I'm no expert but here's my 2c.

I have a few questions about bow and crossbows. These would be traditional weapons, not modern.

Would a longbow be expected for someone who does not fight or hunt mounted on an animal?Not necessarily. Longbows are just one type of bow that became popular in Europe in the Middle Ages. There are hundreds of different styles of bows out there.

Short recurve bows are used from horseback? Bows used from horseback are short out of necessity. A longer bow would be too cumbersome. There were many different types of bows used from horseback and not near all of them were re-curved.

Crossbows take less skill relative to a longbow? Absolutely. It takes years to master a longbow and, while not easy, a crossbow could be put in the hands of someone with much less experience.

Crossbows are much slower to reload than someone shooting a longbow? Yes. Much.

Didn't intend to ask leading questions, but I wanted to double check my information.

Quinn_Inuit

Not a real eskimo
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.steve-quinn.net
I've studied this a bit, especially bow construction.

Would a longbow be expected for someone who does not fight or hunt mounted on an animal?

Ditto Patrick S. Longbows actually don't show up that often in the historical record. And some, especially the old Indian bamboo longbows that Alexander the Great faced, took quite some time to shoot.