I'm about to give up!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

runt

Registered
Reaction score
I have been writing since elementary school. I had a few poems published in middle school. But now that I graduated high school it seems like the hope of getting anything published is extremely doubtful. I am taking courses for Children's Literature and I'm going to be going for my Master's degree in English soon. I feel so worn out between finishing this children's book I've been working on and school and work. I'm also doing all the housework, taking care of my daughter (she's a toddler who gets into everything), and looking for freelance writing work. I am completely exhausted. I'm about to give up on writing. Maybe I should just get my Bachelor's degree in English and go for an Editorial position or something.

blacbird

Registered
Reaction score
runt said:
Maybe I should just get my Bachelor's degree in English and go for an Editorial position or something.

Well, yeah, you probably should do something like this. We all have to pay the bills, and most writers don't pay the bills, at least not all of them, through writing. So what does this step have to do with whether or not you continue writing?

caw.

eldragon

in a van down by the river
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
lifeat42.blogspot.com
Yes! Go to college and get a degree now!

Continue writing, of course, but get your degree now, or regret it later.

runt

Registered
Reaction score
blacbird said:
Well, yeah, you probably should do something like this. We all have to pay the bills, and most writers don't pay the bills, at least not all of them, through writing. So what does this step have to do with whether or not you continue writing?

caw.
Actually it has nothing to do with paying bills. I have no problem in that department. It's just that I have a lot of stuff going on and the pile of rejections isn't helping. The pile just makes me feel like I'm not a very good writer.

JenNipps