Query response

BlueBadger

Knows notebooks can kill.
Registered
Reaction score
I asked this question casually in another thread on another part of the board, but then I decided I might get a more complete answer in this forum since you've all been there. ;)

I was wondering how long the average response time is for a query sent via e-mail? Does it usually vary from magazine to magazine? I asked AKC Family Dog for their writer's guidelines, and I got an enthusiastic response pretty quickly. So I sent the actual query yesterday and am just wondering what the average response time usually is for this sort of thing.

(I also mentioned that I'm fairly new to query letters, since the people I write for regularily have me interact directly with my editor. ;)

Thanks a lot for the help!

Fern

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
Bluebadger, I haven't submitted to that particular publication so can't say for them, but response time varies.

The quickest I've gotten a resonse is about 15 minutes (and on a Saturday at that!) ; I've gotten lots within a day or two or a couple weeks and then just last week I received a rejection for one that I had emailed approximately 5 months ago. I've also had an acceptance after about 7 or 8 months. . .I know this one tends to be slow, so I just forgot about it after emailing. It took them that long to get back to me, but it was an acceptance. I would say for the most part email responses are fairly quick.

I always make it a point to check the guidelines because many times they will tell you if you don't hear by a certain length of time to consider it rejected. Seems like the ones I've noticed say about 8 weeks.

GHF65

Registered
Reaction score