PDA

View Full Version : Selling e-book rights

GHWard
07-03-2013, 07:06 PM
Is this ever a prudent decision? If not, can you outline some of the usual tactics that publishers or other organizations may employ to manipulate/ hoodwink authors out of their rights?

Anne Lyle
07-03-2013, 07:11 PM
Is this ever a prudent decision?

You mean as part of a print book deal? Hell yes - if the publisher is going to bring out ebooks alongside print. I see that as the only sensible tactic in today's market - anything else is going to frustrate readers who prefer the ebook format.

If not, can you outline some of the usual tactics that publishers or other organizations may employ to manipulate/ hoodwink authors out of their rights?

No, for reasons above. I have no experience of manipulation or hoodwinking - I have an agent who was happy for me to sign over ebook rights (in a sensible contract).

Terie
07-03-2013, 07:26 PM
Is this ever a prudent decision? If not, can you outline some of the usual tactics that publishers or other organizations may employ to manipulate/ hoodwink authors out of their rights?

No reputable publisher manipulates or hoodwinks authors at all. If that's what you think publishers do, maybe trade publishing isn't your cup of tea.

That said, there are plenty of disreputable publishers who engage in manipulation and hoodwinking. Cough*PublishAmerica*Cough.

It's your job as an aspiring author to research publishers to find out if they're reputable or not.

FluffBunny
07-03-2013, 08:12 PM
You can get a pretty good education by reading the threads in the Bewares and Backgrounds section here - http://absolutewrite.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=22 Reading about the good agencies/publishers as well as the bad will give you a good idea of what to look for.

Writer Beware also has an excellent site and their section called "Case Studies" is interesting reading. That can be found here - http://www.sfwa.org/other-resources/for-authors/writer-beware/cases/

Old Hack