How Much Damage Can A Bullet To The Hip Do?

JFitchett92

Registered
Reaction score
Hey all,

This is my first time posting in this section of the forums so I may be barking up the wrong tree.

At the end of my WIP, my MC gets hit in crossfire and takes a bullet to her hip. She survives, but I'm wondering exactly how much damage could this do?

As my story doesn't have a very happy ending, I'm wondering what permanent damage may come of such a wound. As it's in the hip I assume it would create problems with having children, but what else would be affected?

Thank you!

Oreo1909

Registered
Reaction score
Little lasting damage, apparently.

PATIENTS:*From 1999 to 2008, there were 2808 cases of gunshot wounds that reported to our hospital. Twelve hundred thirty-five patients had an associated fracture that included 42 patients with fractures of the hip and pelvis. The average age of patients was 30.3 years (range, 19-54 years) and 40 of the 42 were male. Eighteen patients (43%) underwent emergency laparotomy for suspected visceral and vascular injuries of which seven patients had a negative laporotomy. There were 18 ilium fractures, 10 hip fractures, nine acetabular fractures, seven pubic rami fractures, six sacral fractures, three sacroiliac joint injuries, and two ischial tuberosity fractures.

INTERVENTION:*Seven patients required orthopaedic surgical intervention, undergoing a total of 10 operative procedures.RESULTS:*All fractures healed and there was no incidence of pelvic ring instability requiring surgical stabilization or chronic osteomyelitis. Nonorthopaedic injuries included 15 small/large bowel perforations (36%), seven vessel lacerations (17%), and two urogenital injuries (5%) that required surgery. Associated injuries included four patients with nerve damage that recovered partially.