horror and fantasy

• Thread starter Flawed Creation
  • Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.

Flawed Creation

what's the relationship. can a book be both? does horor have to end unhappily?

how do i make my villains/monsters really scary (i'm a fantasy author)?

how do i start writing Horror?

MacAl Stone

Oh, I don't think horror has to end unhappily at all. In fact, horror is rather uncomfortably didactic, for my tastes.

As to the differences between horror and fantasy--I think they can be pretty vague and nebulous (to borrow someone's cliche)

You wanna know the villain that really impressed me? Maleficent (sp?), from Disney's Sleeping Beauty. Now there is a tough, scary b*tch...unabashedly summoning "all the powers of Hell" to do her bidding.

Power and focused, malevolent will--all rolled into a single package. That's scary stuff.

spooknov

what's the relationship. can a book be both? does horor have to end unhappily?

I asked the same thing not long ago. There is a vague line bet/horror and fantasy. You can have both fantasy and horror, pending on the content of the work. Pitch Black is a sci-fi/horror.

how do i make my villains/monsters really scary (i'm a fantasy author)? how do i start writing Horror?

My suggestion is to read a few books in the genre. Get a feel for the description they use to scare you. Pay attention to the storylines. This will give you an idea where to start.

macalicious731

You wanna know the villain that really impressed me? Maleficent (sp?), from Disney's Sleeping Beauty. Now there is a tough, scary b*tch...unabashedly summoning "all the powers of Hell" to do her bidding.

Oh my gosh. Malificient scared the crap outta me when I was younger. Whoever played her voice was just perfect, too.

refriedwhiskey