Grandmothers? Grandfathers?

rhymegirl

It's a New Year!
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Hopefully, this is the right place for this.

I write for a monthly local publication. August's theme is what kinds of things grandparents can do with their grandchildren to keep them entertained over the summer.

I need to interview someone who is a grandparent of young children. I haven't been able to find anyone. My next door neighbor has grandchildren but they are adults.

Any takers? You can send me a PM.

shakeysix

blue eyed floozy
Registered
Reaction score
Website
shakey6wordsmith.webs.com
Here I am --Grammy to two city kids who spend 4-6 weeks with me every summer. I am a teacher and have the summer off, so have been hosting the kids for years now. Isabella is from Florida near Miami and is 11 years old this summer. Magnolia is 8 this year, from a bigger city about an hour from here. Her mom is a single parent so I have been watching her since she was days old. Bella only started staying three years ago. She will be here July 1. Factor in the neighbor boys, Edwin and Christopher-- 10 and 6, who are over here as much as the girls are at their house- and you will see that I have earned my credentials as entertainer/caregiver.

Now this town is small--about 1,000 people so you might think that city kids would find it boring but Isabella, especially, loves the slow pace. She brags that Kansas is better than Florida (They live near Hollywood Beach and go often, so this strikes me as strange.I'd take a beach over dust and tumbleweeds any day!) because you don't have to do something every day!She insisted on coming this summer, after I was afraid that she had outgrown us.