PDA

View Full Version : agents and new authors

vigeo
06-13-2013, 07:34 PM
When agents say they are looking for new
authors does that mean they will consider anyone dedicated to writing who has written a good story or are they only looking for college grads with English or lit majors?

Bufty
06-13-2013, 07:39 PM
If the story is a good one and it's well written or shows promise I don't think educational qualifications or background enter into it insofar as making any accept/reject decision is concerned.

You are wrongly assuming that only college grads or lit majors can write stories that sell.

quicklime
06-13-2013, 07:49 PM
authors does that mean they will consider anyone dedicated to writing who has written a good story or are they only looking for college grads with English or lit majors?

I'd guess less than half of commercially published writers have either degree. I have a PhD in biology and one single english class in all of college. I believe SP never entered college at all, and she's no longer here (sad) but she is doing just fine.

Old Hack
06-13-2013, 08:13 PM
You really don't need any creative writing education to be able to write well. Agents want to see strong writing, wherever it comes from.

CAWriter
06-13-2013, 08:21 PM
I agree that the majority of published books are not written by English or lit majors. I know a number of well-published authors who don't have any college degrees at all.

I took the minimum required English/Lit classes in college. As much as I've always loved reading, I hated the process of dissecting pieces and re-interpreting them as though we could read the author's mind. I seldom saw the work the same way the professor did and the whole approach kind of ruined it for me.

I don't know that any of my former teachers or professors have published books, but I do. Agents look for projects they can sell. An author's degree status and area of study is incidental to the story and their ability to tell it.

zegota
06-13-2013, 08:36 PM