PDA

View Full Version : Kindle publishing/KDP Upload Review Time

JeanneM
06-11-2013, 08:02 AM
Hello everyone.

I'm a first time self-publishing author about to upload my first fantasy novel to KDP. While I was prepping my material, I picked a launch date of June 18th.

I scanned the FAQs on the Amazon KDP site, read some of their message board, and did the same here at AW. I'm still unable to find my answer.

From what I understand, the FAQ on the KDP site states that your book will be available online anytime between 24 and 48 hours after uploading.

Yet I noticed there was a message board where some folks were still waiting after a week. Is that normal? Or was there a glitch during that time? Or is it that newbies have to wait a week?

So I am wondering if I should upload now, or just acknowledge the 24-48 hour waiting period.

What has been your experience? I'm looking for both first time uploaders, and people who have a few or more published materials under their belt.

Thanks.

christwriter
06-11-2013, 09:36 AM
I've got upwards of 13 books published.

It takes about 12 hours in my opinion. My MO releasing books has been to upload the day before my official release, fart around on Tumblr for an hour, and then go to bed once "publishing" appears. The book is live by the time I wake up and I don't stress.

FYI I'm in the US, if that changes anything.

shelleyo
06-11-2013, 09:48 AM
Hello everyone.

I'm a first time self-publishing author about to upload my first fantasy novel to KDP. While I was prepping my material, I picked a launch date of June 18th.

I scanned the FAQs on the Amazon KDP site, read some of their message board, and did the same here at AW. I'm still unable to find my answer.

From what I understand, the FAQ on the KDP site states that your book will be available online anytime between 24 and 48 hours after uploading.