A Really Disheartening Experience

CynV

The Original Cyn
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.CynthiaVespia.com
Nobody knows what writers go through day in and day out with this process except for other writers.
Along with my passion for writing I am also a personal trainer and I have a great love of fitness. I've always wanted to combine the two and one of my dreams was to have an article featured in Oxygen Magazine.
This year it seemed like that dream was going to come true. I submitted a pitch; they accepted; I wrote the piece, did the research and the ball was rolling towards a July 2013 publication.
As the date grew closer and closer I got more and more excited. I was finally going to have a contributor byline in Oxygen!
Yesterday I come to find out that RK Publishing had filed for bankruptcy and sub-sequentially closed its doors to all its publications including Oxygen.
Only one month out and now my article will never see the light of day, my dream will go unrealized.
I'm literally heartbroken.
They always say to keep moving forward towards your dream and eventually you'll get there. But I've been kicked in the teeth so many times in this career that I'm starting to wonder.Usually I'm the first to pull myself together and charge back out there but this experience has really left me feeling deflated.
Anyone else have a really bad experience like that they were able to overcome? Could use some encouragement.

Maryn

Baaa!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I had an acceptance letter for my very first short story--until they got a submission they liked better and decided to publish it instead. So I go to the place where this local magazine featuring my first story is sold, and... it's not in it. They didn't even tell me.