PDA

View Full Version : Can I have different agents for different novels at the same time?

Luzoni
06-07-2013, 03:58 AM
I've heard it's extremely bad form and unacceptable for an author to have two agents at the same time, but is that true for multiple novels? I happily signed with one agent and her agency recently, but before that I had queried agents with another different novel and today received a late full request for that novel. It's completely feasible that the agent I'm signed with, or others in her agency, could represent this other novel once they're finished with the current one, but I'm very new to this process so I don't know what's standard.

So what do I tell the agent who asked for the full on the other novel? After trying to get an agent for so long I absolutely do not want to offend her! Yet I'm also hesitant to just shoot down the full request for the other novel because it's currently just sitting around, gathering dust. Is it standard that I automatically reject these late full requests for other novels, now that I've got one work signed with an agent?

Sorry for the dumb question! I wanted to ask people who'd know the correct thing before assuming something and doing it and maybe making a mistake. :cry:

thothguard51
06-07-2013, 04:14 AM
Yes...

DahlELama
06-07-2013, 04:35 AM
This is why you generally notify all agents before accepting an offer from one.