Website
curiosity-abounds.blogspot.com

kkbe

Huh.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
kkelliewriteme.wordpress.com
I was an artist in my past life. I've had my share of life drawing classes and believe me, I tried for that gesture. Never could get it down. I was more like, Look at those lips. I have to draw those lips;" appreciating the whole but tripped up by the parts.

I see what the writer is saying. Details are important, they hold the story together. But if we focus too keenly on details, we run the risk of missing the big picture. First we need to capture the essense, the grand gesture, the arc, the broadstroke. Sketching before rendering. Acknowledging that, like the human form, a story is more than the sum of its parts.

Finally, this:

Appreciate the gesture; could do without the snark.

Which has nothing to do with your interesting post, vombatidae. I just thought of that and I kind of like the way it sounds. :)

Last edited:

Filigree

Mildly Disturbing
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cranehanabooks.com
As an artist, writer, and - yes - a former art model, I can see the author's point. The snark didn't bother me;I barely registered the presence of snark, to be honest. What I take from this essay is the lack of foundational training in many current art and writing classes.Gestural drawings (and their literary equivalent) are a strong tool in the creative arts. At the very least, they help break new students of the misconception that every line has to be perfect.

Filigree

Mildly Disturbing
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cranehanabooks.com
Ah, got it. The bad side of having a Rhinohide is that sometimes I cannot tell when I've actually pissed someone off with my blathering.