Overdose Scenario

DavidZahir

Malkavian Primogen
Registered
Reaction score
Website
undeadwhispers.yuku.com
Does this make much sense?

A teenage girl, extremely upset (obviously), sneaks into her dad's bathroom and swallows fifty or so tablets of a blood pressure medication. This is a suicide attempt.

She's found, unconscious but still alive. Physicians manage to resuscitate her, barely. But her heart had stopped long enough that she suffers permanent brain damage.

Thanks in advance!

quacktaculaura

Registered
Reaction score
From what I'm seeing online (and I'm not an expert, sorry) it definitely could happen, depending on what type of medications she takes. If she takes Beta blockers the symptoms could include:difficulty breathing, wheezing, blurred vision, irregular heartbeat, double vision, lightheadedness, shock, heart failure, slow or rapid heartbeat, confusion, coma, convulsions, excessive sweating, drowsiness, fever, weakness and nervousness. Severe overdose can also cause a victim to stop breathing.

Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/24634-blood-pressure-medications-overdose-symptoms/#ixzz2TxrGrUTY

My biggest concern would be if he would really have that many pills on hand, and taking 50 pills would take quite a while. But I would guess she could probably overdose on a smaller number of pills, and anytime the heart stops and deprives the brain of oxygen, brain damage is a possibility.

DavidZahir

Malkavian Primogen
Registered
Reaction score
Website
undeadwhispers.yuku.com
Thanks so much! I myself take blood pressure medication and have more than fifty of them within an arm's reach. Swallowing all of them would take less than a minute. They're smaller than tictacs. But I don't take beta blockers. Still, I also take Metformin for diabetes 2, which are BIG. I feel positive that given a large glass of water I could swallow fifty or so in a few minutes.

Again, many thanks!

quacktaculaura

Registered
Reaction score