Ya Never Know

bulldoggerel

Let Them Eat Crow
Registered
Reaction score
I guess this is the best forum to place this. Move me if not.
Yesterday at the end of a slow work day I was manning the phone.
This I rarely do, but my office employee had left early to go to the dentist. It was quiet so I took the last half-hour of my day to rework a new idea I had for my first query.
I am an artist and my business sells products of my own design and manufacture to both wholesale and retail outlets.
A few minutes before closing the phone rang and a woman with a crisp and professional voice asked to place an order.
In 30 years of business I can usually distinguish the voice of a wholesaler and a retail customer and I believed this woman to be the former.
"Do you have store?" I asked.
"Oh no!" she said and laughed "I'm a literary agent."
GULP
"Well. I need you!" sez I, "as I've just written a book."
"What is your book about?" she asked.
I choke out an even briefer version of the query, and I tell her I had just been polishing my query moments ago.
"This sounds interesting." she says. " Don't you think this is strange?"
"Well it is a coincidence." I say
"I don't believe in coincidences." she says. "Would you send me the first three chapters?"

When I got home I looked her up. She's a biggie. Only accepts from published authors, which I am not.

Gahhhhhh! Now I've got to send them. This will be my first.

Lavern08

Sit Down, and Shut Up!
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
DANG!

I don't believe in coincidences either. ;)

Go for it and keep us posted.

Liralen

Miss Conceived
Registered
Reaction score
No such thing as coincidence :)

bulldoggerel

Let Them Eat Crow
Registered
Reaction score
I know I know. It gives me the hee-bee jee-bees. I'll keep you all posted. It will probably be a rejection- but I am better off in the agent category than I was 24 hours ago at this same time!

regdog

The Scavengers
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score