Quick technical tickets

fwc

!eltneg eb ,dik weN
Registered
Reaction score
Hi,
I wanted to ask if anyone here had a clue how to write in a technical style. I have to troubleshoot and record problems, and this is the basic way I write:
>The user was disconnected from the Internet
>Had user check their wireless configuration
>Had user reconnect LAN cables
>Restarted the computer
>Restarted the router and had user re-enter their password
>Opened the network diagnostic tool and did a troubleshooting session
>Asked user to change their IP configuration back to Automatic IP configuration rather than a static configuration and they were able to reconnect to the internet

Is this sufficient in an environment where you may get a phone call every 15 minutes in a tech support environment?

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not an expert, but what seems absent to me is the basic subject-verb connection, often in favor of understood subject (I) and a past perfect verb that's just taking up space.

It seems to me if it's clear who the subject is and the verb is an active verb, there's less possibility of misinterpretation or missing information.

[Passive voice; active would be User lost Internet connection]
[User checked wireless configuration]
[User reconnected LAN cables]
>Restarted the computer
[User restarted computer]
[User restarted router and re-entered password]
[User opened network diagnostic tool and did troubleshooting session][In the original, it was not clear to me who opened the tool and ran the session.]
>Asked user to change their IP configuration back to Automatic IP configuration rather than a static configuration and they were able to reconnect to the internet
[On tech's request, user restored Automatic IP configuration rather than static configuration. User successfully reconnects to internet.]