PDA

View Full Version : Gone down the rabbit hole

LOTLOF
05-11-2013, 04:23 PM
I have always loved storytelling.

Even as a kid, I would invent these wild stories with monsters and superheroes and tell them to my family and friends. In High School I would fill notebook after notebook with stories. I sent out a few submissions, and each rejection was a cruel blow to my fragile ego.

I eventually discovered fanfiction, where I was able to anonymously post my stories and discover all the many, many, MANY problems I had. Thanks to the feedback of readers, and sheer volume, I improved and gained self-confidence. I learned how to structure a plot, write dialogue, build up suspense, and other lessons. I figured out what worked and what didn’t. I developed my own voice as a writer.

I am a discovery writer. I don’t use outlines and very rarely plot scenes out beforehand. When I sit down to write a story I typically know how it starts, how it ends, and a few highlight scenes in between. For the rest I let the characters guide me.

I write in the fantasy and sci-fi genres. I love humor and tragedy, and the stories I write reflect that. I finally decided to make a serious effort to write an original novel. I spent two years writing and editing my story, The (sort of) Dark Mage. It is essentially a parody of the, ‘hero’s journey.’ A na´ve Dark Mage goes out on a quest and discovers his ideas and perspective aren’t fully appreciated by the outside world.

I decided to self-publish through Amazon. It seemed better than spending months trying to find a publisher, and likely never actually finding one. I wanted to finally see something that was completely mine out on the market. My hope was that it would be a first step in building up a fan base and eventually taking over and conquering this world.