PDA

View Full Version : Should I dabble in self-publishing?

RemusShepherd
05-10-2013, 09:17 PM
I need some advice, but let me start by quickly framing my situation.

In 2007 I was told by several Hugo-award winning authors and editors that I was 'on the cusp' of publication. Since then I've written three science fiction novels and had no success publishing any of them. So let's assume that I'm a reasonably good author, but either I'm terrible at promoting myself and/or my stories are too niche to interest major publishers and agents. (Note, however, I've only applied to top names and companies. I'm starting through the minor agent list now, but I don't know who to trust among small presses.)

I also write and draw a webcomic, which has attracted about 2,000 dedicated readers. I am going to publish the first compilation of webcomic pages in a 160-page graphic novel (both electronic and in print-on-demand form) sometime later this year.

My goal is validation; I want to stand on the Hugo stage one day, at least as a nominee. That's my motivation, I have no illusions about it. I do not need money. I am a scientist in my day job and I make a decent living. In fact, I have a little spending money to throw away -- I could probably sink about $10k into publishing (counting editors and ads and such) and not feel it.

So here's the question -- is it worth self-publishing one of my novels alongside my graphic novel?

Pros:
*-- The more offerings an author has, the more attention each one gets. The sales of my graphic novel should boost the sales of my novel and vice versa.
*-- Indie sales might attract attention from agents and publishers. In fact, that seems to be the main way to get an agent's attention these days.

Cons: