Computer Expert Wanted

Robert Gonko

Registered
Reaction score
Website
robertgonko.wordpress.com
Working on my crime thriller in which the murderer is also an expert computer hacker. I would like to ask questions of an expert in this area. Please PM me if interested as I'm not willing to reveal plot details at this stage. Thank you!

RichardGarfinkle

Nurture Phoenixes
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.richardgarfinkle.com
You probably need to be more specific as to what area of expertise you need. For example, I'm a professional programmer, I know some about security, but I've never done what is conventionally called hacking.

Cath

The mean one
Registered
Reaction score
Website
blog.cathsmith.net
Robert, we strongly prefer answers in thread. You don't have to share key plot points, but some details of what kinds of systems would be hacked into and the purpose would be helpful.

Deleted member 42

The greatest vulnerability are users; social engineering is generally part of any really great hack.

WeaselFire

Benefactor Member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
The greatest vulnerability are users; social engineering is generally part of any really great hack.
Bingo. It's really the only hack you usually need. Or at least, that I usually need. :)

Jeff

Robert Gonko

Registered
Reaction score
Website
My guy is hacking into security systems for the purpose of bypassing them so he can get to his victims undetected. Would a social engineering approach work for this? How would it work? I don't want to put in the kind of detail that would encourage or enable someone to do it, but I would like to know what I'm talking about.

clee984

Bearded and serious
Registered
Reaction score