Bio in the query

S. L. Saboviec

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.saboviec.com
I'm doing my research on agents, and a small number request a bio as part of the query letter. I'm an unpublished author with a ten-year career in a non-writing field. I'm pitching a fantasy/paranormal romance, so obviously, fiction. The only credentials I have are that I've been reading/writing my whole life, that I love fantasy, and that I have a fascination with the subject matter as presented in my book. (Which is completely generic, I know.)

I will not include anything about myself as a standard part of my query for other agents, but for the agents that want a bio, what do I share?

Two examples:
http://www.tridentmediagroup.com/contact-us
"Your query should include only a paragraph about yourself, a brief plot synopsis and your contact information."
and
http://www.defioreandco.com/about/rebecca-strauss
"Please email with a brief query letter containing information on your book, your bio and the first five pages in the body of the email."

Siri Kirpal

Swan in Process
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Sat Nam! (literally "Truth Name"--a Sikh greeting)

Hmmm... You could leave it out, or you could give either some funny info about yourself or perhaps one sentence about your job. If you have any stage skills at all, say so.

Blessings,

Siri Kirpal

MandyHubbard

Once Upon a Time....
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.MandyHubbard.com
Hey Samantha,

Keep it simple. As a last paragraph, simply say, "I live in Chicago with my husband and three dogs, where my bookshelves are about to collapse under the weight of my romance novel collection. When I'm not writing, I stay up way too late watching GAME OF THRONES."

Or whatever. Really, it doesn't have to be serious.

quicklime

all out of fucks to give
Banned
Reaction score
for your second example I wouldn't add anything. The first was specific enough I would probably put something like this: