PDA

View Full Version : Wordcraft in a query? Important?

DennisB
04-25-2013, 09:48 PM
How much stock do agents put in the literary craft of the query? Not the usual format questions... such as opening with "I'm seeking representation," or "I'm a writer..."

But whether the synopsis actually has the kind of voice that will sell the agent on the idea that the querier actually knows how to write a novel? That the novel is sound enough to pursue?

Of is it simply a matter of a subject hooking the agent, and the nuts and bolts of the mss coming later?

stormie
04-25-2013, 10:01 PM
The query is what either opens the door to getting an agent to request the ms. or closes it shut.

Keep it short, keep it to the point (no rambling), and yes, hook the agent but also voice is very important. The agent will get a feel for your writing style from that.

Drachen Jager
04-25-2013, 10:06 PM
Go to Query Letter Hell. That's really the best place to sort these things out.

Everything about your query matters, but it doesn't matter as much as many writers seem to think it does.

So long as the query is obviously competently written and presents a story the agent feels able to sell, they'll probably have at least a peek at your opening pages.

That said, don't short-change the query. It is your first impression and you don't want it to be a bad, or even a mediocre one.

Also, you do not, should not, say "I'm seeking representation" or "I'm a writer". This is a query letter. Query letters are sent out by writers seeking representation. To repeat either of those bits of information is redundant and may have an agent wondering if you really know what you're doing.

Go to Query Letter Hell. Read through as many threads as you can, especially the ones that are for works similar to your own. Put on your best suit of armour. Vet your letter there, but be prepared, there is a reason it's called Hell.

cate townsend
04-25-2013, 10:57 PM