When to mention I already have an agent

Bushrat

reaching for the sun
Registered
Reaction score
I'm a Canadian bilingual writer and wonder if I should include in my query that I already have a literary agent in Germany for the manuscripts I write in German, geared at the market over there? It's not the same books I'm querying in North America.

I don't think it matters at the query stage, or does it? If my query sucks, I don't see it rising out of the slush pile just because an agent overseas likes my other stuff. My hunch is to only mention this if I get an offer.
Or what do you think?

Drachen Jager

Professor of applied misanthropy
Registered
Reaction score
That's a tough one. Most agents prefer to have an exclusive arrangement with their authors, but as you say, they probably wouldn't be able to handle the German language market as well as your German agent.

Does the German agent deal with anyone over here? Often agencies will cooperate across markets. That might be a good place to start.

Otherwise I would suggest you include it in your query. Mention your German publications and that you have a German language agent already. I'm not certain it would be seen as a net positive, but I find it unlikely an agent would see it as a serious negative. However if it seems like you're withholding information, that can sour the relationship quickly.

Bushrat

reaching for the sun
Registered
Reaction score
I don't have any books published yet, and since the German books feature German protags, I doubt they'd be of much interest over here. My agent only has the rights to my manuscripts originally written in German, so as far as representation and subsidiary rights of my English manuscripts go (the ones I'm seeking an agent for now), they'd all be open and available. That's why I think it shouldn't really affect any agent relationship here and vice versa.