Should I mention that I'm an indie bookseller in a bio?

frankiebrown

Simplify.
Registered
Reaction score
Hey y'all :).

I'm gearing to begin my first-ever round of queries (squeeee!), and I'm wondering what the consensus is on mentioning my job in my bio. I work as a bookseller at the only independently owned bookstore in my hometown (best job ever!), like I said above.

But I'm waffling. On one hand being a bookseller makes me very "plugged in" to the publishing industry, and having access to lots of ARCs and other goodies definitely gives me a leg up as a writer. It also means I'm intimately familiar with the YA market, especially because I'm the only bookseller at the shop who reads a lot of YA (so I get all the ARCs *grubgrubgrub*).

Or should I stick with just the facts, ma'am, and skip the bio altogether?

quicklime

all out of fucks to give
Banned
Reaction score
I'm a just the facts guy myself--they want to know you can WRITE a book, not that you luvs them, or read a lot of them, or know who's pubbing now. Those things can be nice, but they're looking for a book itself.

you-think-too-much

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.you-think-too-much.com
Good question. Does the book you're querying have anything to do with bookstores or books? Definitely yes, then. Otherwise, I'm not sure. It seems like that'd be useful to know. Have you ever tried #askagent on Twitter? This seems like a good question to ask there.

Good luck!

frankiebrown

Simplify.
Registered
Reaction score
Hmm, no, my manuscript doesn't have anything to do with bookstores. My rational in wanting to include my job was that I'd read on a few agent blogs they like to see that the people querying them are familiar with their market. I was hoping listing my job as a bookseller would imply that... But it doesn't have anything to do with the manuscript itself, no. That twitter thing was a great suggestion, though, thanks for that.

Susan Coffin

Tell it like it Is
Registered
Reaction score
Website