Agent Contract Question - need help asap!

davidhburton

Purveyor of sacrilege
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.davidhburton.com
Hi there!

I received an agent contract from what I believe to be a reputable agency in NY. I have some questions around the wordage and would really appreciate feedback on this.

It is as follows:

Billable expenses include Xerox copies, overseas phone and faxes. Possible travel and entertainment can follow sale of book. The fee of $100.00 to be sent to Agent with executed contract, is for Messenger service and/ or Priority Mail. Outside editors, "book doctors", or additional collaborators are the responsibility of the Author.

I am new to this and want to ensure that I understand before I sign.

Are these normal contract conditions and what do they mean?

Thanks in advance!

David

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
The fee of $100.00

This is your first warning sign, davidhburton, and you're wise to ask the question. Don't sign the contract or send a check. Agents shouldn't ask for money. They get paid AFTER they sell your book.

Are you willing to share the name of the agency, or have you at least looked through our Index of Agents to check to see if we have any data on them?

davidhburton

Purveyor of sacrilege
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.davidhburton.com
Thanks!

I thought it was a bit odd. I won't name the agency, but they are not listed on the index. They ARE however listed on preditors and editors with a $ next to their name and no indication that they are not reputable.

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com