PDA

View Full Version : The pros and cons of Kindle self-publishing?

lezbelle123
04-02-2013, 01:03 PM
I'm a writer myself, but have not had time to really work on editing my journals into manuscript; I'm in college and even though I'm only a half-time student, I'm backlogged with two , 5-6 pp. essays to write and strongly considering applying to another, far more creative/liberal arts-based university for creative writing major. New Mexico State, while offering English-emphasis: creative writing; is more of a agricultural-science, engineering, education, business university.[ SUNY's Purchase College-a top liberal, LGBT-friendly, 90% creative/performing arts university offers the BA; while SUNY Potsdam has both BA and BFA. California College for the Arts is also tops-but costly. All are highly rated.]
Anyway, cut to the chase here; I'm considering eventually publishing with Create Space [ Amazon]. This after discovering the TRUTH about PUBLISH AMERICA! My acquaintance who's in our English-CW emphasis BA gave me this sheet from her professor; " Stay away from Publish America! Google Search will reveal why". My friend, the one who has yet to publish on Kindle but switched to Create Space from PA; he said the same, " No I would not recommend Publish America!" [They demanded he " buy back the publishing rights" for $150. Having sent the money last June, he has yet to hear back from PA".
I told him that I did not know too much about Kindle by Amazon; just that several of my co-students here at NMSU love it. One grad student in teaching/education Masters program said she buys/downloads all of her textbooks which are available on Kindle; said that it " lightens the load in backpack and is easier, more popular with busy people for all books".