Piercing attack and chainmail armor

rlayna

figuring it all out
Registered
Reaction score
OK, from looking at a few website, it is said that chainmail armor can protect someone against a piercing attack. What I want to know is what happens to the mail and the weapon once a piercing blow is given?

Would the rings split? Would the weapon (a dagger in this case) be stuck momentarily? I imagine there would be a nasty bruise...

mirandashell

Banned
Reaction score
Can it? That surprises me, considering from the point of view of an arrow, chainmail is a load of holes.

Shakesbear

knows a hawk from a handsaw
Registered
Reaction score
Some soldiers could afford a Gambeson or padded jack which would lesson the bruising.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Padded_jack I studied military tailoring and made a Gamebson - it was heavy and cumbersome. But that might just have been the way I constructed it.

From the point of view of an arrow I think it would have to be very slim and aimed perfectly to pierce chain mail. Most arrows, unless they found a weak spot (underarm, neck) would just bounce off. I doubt if a cheap dagger would have any impact.

mirandashell

Banned
Reaction score
Hmmm.... interesting. I just assumed that an arrow, or more likely a bolt, would carry enough force to pierce the mail as long as the tip went into a hole. My mistake.

Shakesbear

Registered
Reaction score
Ahhh a bolt fired from a crossbow may have more force behind it than an arrow fired from a bow. Possible exception being the English Longbow. It the tip went into one of the holes it would, I would think, get stuck as the arrow head gets wider past the point and mail is very closely linked.

mirandashell

Banned
Reaction score