Following Up

abluerwhite

Shredder
Registered
Reaction score
Sent the query letter and then sent the requested book proposal/sample chapter. It's been two weeks since I sent the requested material. Is it polite to follow up now? There are no offers currently but I'd like to know where she's at without sounding impatient.

BethEllyn

Registered
Reaction score
nope, way too soon. I'm from camp Never Nudge, I don't like the idea, but many, many people are all for it, and I'm sure agents don't mind. But with requested material usually you should wait 3 ish months before nudging. hope this helps :)

waylander

Who's going for a beer?
Registered
Reaction score
What she said.
Wait 3 months before following up, keep querying in the meantime and write something else.

Stephanie Witter

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to all of this but two weeks is nothing! Many agents can take several months when they have to read some requested material. Did you check the website of the agency? Sometimes they post their average response time.

But I know how frustrating, difficult and nerve wrecking it is to wait for an answer. If you work on another story, it should distract you a little. :)
Let us know when you have an answer.

mayqueen

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
Nudge at three months on requested materials. That's standard. Some agents take less time. Some take longer. Waiting is hard, but it's not good to nudge earlier.

Debbie V

Mentoring Myself and Others
Registered
Reaction score
The agent I sent my full to asked me to nudge after "a few weeks". I waited a full month, but I never received a reply to the nudge e-mail. I'm concerned the nudge didn't get through, but I don't know about nudging again. Trying to figure out which way is erring on the side of caution. Thoughts?

abluerwhite

Shredder
Registered
Reaction score