Nausea during exercise?

kaitie

With great power comes
Registered
Reaction score
Hey guys, thought I'd pop in here with a question and see if anyone has any tips for me. I've been working out for about five years now, and I've never had a problem with feeling sick when I exercise. For some reason, though, the past couple of weeks anytime I do anything that uses any amount of effort, I'm feeling a kind of heartburny, sick to my stomach feeling. It's interfering with the workouts because I have to stop and tone it down, and it's really frustrating.

It started when I began doing workouts with my trainer again after about a month off, but it's happening anytime I do any sort of exercise. I've done quite a bit of googling, but nothing seems to really answer the question. Any tips? I've been drinking plenty of water and not eating right before workouts. Basically, I haven't done a darn thing different (except maybe eaten fewer bananas as I keep forgetting to buy them), but for some reason this has started popping up.

mdgreene50

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.gettotheinside.blogspot.com
Could you possibly be pregnant? That was my first thought. Have you ever had problems with heartburn/acid reflux before? If not, it's also possible you've got a mild, lingering virus causing some nausea. I'd say try a chewable Pepto or an antacid and hope this goes away soon! I know how much my workout means to me and how hard it would be to give up. :mad:

kaitie

With great power comes
Registered
Reaction score
I don't think I'm pregnant. I don't really have any other symptoms, but it's probably worth checking just to be sure. I have had some acid reflux problems before, but not in years. I used to have problems with it when I was overweight and drank too many acidic drinks. After I cut back on soda and started working out, that hasn't been a problem.