Status
Not open for further replies.

Atomic Bear

the Bruin of Tomorrow™
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.atomicbearpress.com
I am just finishing my MS for my Graphic Novel and I was interested in how people script their comic. Since the word and pictures must work together, neither one more or less important. Do you write a script in pictures first or words first.

I mostly work with pictures first. I am an artist who writes. But my process moves back and forth between the pictures and the words. I see the comic like my own animated feature, and I am visualizing all the shots flowing from my pencil.

What do you guys do?

Jaoman

Registered
Reaction score
I'm not sure I understand the question. You write a script, you don't draw it. That is the nature of the script. What are you asking?

Atomic Bear

the Bruin of Tomorrow™
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.atomicbearpress.com
Jaoman said:
I'm not sure I understand the question. You write a script, you don't draw it. That is the nature of the script. What are you asking?

A script can be any sequence of notation whether in pictures or words, or both. It is true that most would consider a script as the text of a play or movie.

But as a sole comic creator I work in both. I got excited and forgot that the majority of story tellers here are writers on Absolute Write. My bad.

A better question would be if you work in Plot or Script style and how you interacted with the artist. I personally do a reverse plot style, I guess.

A perfect example of the difference is by Marv Wolfman from Panel One: comic book scripts by top writers, edited my Nat Gertler.

I did all my Marvel work and much of my DC work plot style. When you're working with someone who understands story telling, there is nothing better.