"Day in the Life" stuff for Private Wealth Management firm/Financial Planner?

IvyJane

Registered
Reaction score
I'm looking for "day in the life" stuff for someone working at a Private Wealth Management firm (the kind that works with individuals, not large entities).

My main character is in an entry-level administrative position at a small (<20 people) private wealth management firm. I have a basic understanding of what they do there (putting together an investment plan for clients who want to maximize their assets/preserve them for their heirs) but I don't really know what the typical day-to-day office stuff would look like. I've perused PWM firms' websites and skimmed an old edition of "wealth management," but I have a lot of gaps in my knowledge.

Specifically, I'm wondering:

1. How is the typical office organized? Are there physical (paper) files for each client, and are the files stored centrally or with whoever is working on them at the time? Or is most of the information in computer files? If so, would the computer files be networked and accessible by everyone?

2. Who works with the client? Are there "teams" (e.g., managing director + associate + analyst or something) or is it mostly one person working with a client? Do admin people tend to work with specific associates/partners/etc. or do all the work for everyone?

3. What kind of responsibilities would a fairly new (entry-level) administrative person have? What would her typical day look like?

4. What do meetings with the clients look like? For example, for the preliminary interview with a potential client, is it just a relatively senior person meeting with that client? Are admins ever present at meetings with clients (and if so, what do they do?)

5. What are the hours like? Does this depend on the specific firm, or is there a tendency toward light or heavy hours?

Thanks in advance!

King Neptune

Banned
Reaction score