PDA

View Full Version : "The Man in the Hat stories" - Call for short stories submissions

TheManintheHat
03-08-2013, 06:11 PM
http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/1507/tmithstoriesbanner.png

Hello everyone,

My name is Antonio Bernal and Im an artist and illustrator, creator of the series The Man in the Hat (www.themaninthehatart.com)

Im reaching you to present you a creative, collaborative, writing project: "The Man in the Hat stories", where Im inviting all creative souls to write short stories based on my artwork. The short stories will be published on The Man the Hat website (www.themaninthehatart.com) and Facebook page (www.facebook.com/thmaninthehatart).

The Man in the Hat is a series of quirky watercolor illustrations, with a strong narrative, but no actual plot behind each scene. Many have suggested the illustrations could make up for a great story, so now is the time to reveal those stories, and it's up to YOU to create, imagine and write them.

The idea with the Man in the Hat stories is to engage the viewers into the creative process and ask them to write whatever story the illustrations inspire to them.

This will an interesting experiment, as typically, stories are written first and then an artist or illustrator is asked to create the artwork based on the text. This time, however, we are trying to do it the other way around, so it should be fun and very interesting to see what the illustrations suggest to different viewers and writers.

How to participate:

Choose up to three illustrations from the series to inspire and illustrate your story. You can view the complete series on the website gallery (www.themaninthehatart.com/gallery) or the Facebook album (http://tinyurl.com/bcd5jkb)

Write your story with a word count limit of 3,000 words. It can be as short as you want.

Email your story to themaninthehatart@gmail.com

For more information, visit: http://www.themaninthehatart.com/stories