When querying...

scribbledoutname

Nobody said I couldn't.
Registered
Reaction score
Should I try to make my query appeal to as many people as possible or should I write the kind of query that would make me rush to the counter to buy a book?

Atm I'm letting an MS sit. I've picked a bunch of agents but first I have to write the query itself. I'll definitely drop by SYW in a few days, but first I need to figure out what I'm going to try to acheive.

Basically, I want an agent who loves my idea (and my vision) so I really want to write it in a way that would make me pick it up. On the other hand, I know a lot of agents prefer the character dynamics, so I could easily focus more on that than the plot and use the relationships in the story as a hook.

I don't want to attract anyone for the wrong reasons, though. I'm a plot-driven writer (if we're going to use that slightly shaky term) and so it's usually the circumstances/danger/milieu that draws me to a story, not the personal issues. I don't want to attract someone who'll want me to revise my story so that the characters are in the forefront... if you see what I mean?

If I write a query that would appeal to me I'm hoping that it'll attract someone who likes the same books as me... as opposed to writing a more character relationship oriented query, which might attract any agent who likes my genre and interesting characters.

I hope I make sense!

Susan Coffin

Tell it like it Is
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.strokingthepen.com
The only purpose of your query letter is to entice the agent to want to read more, which leads to requests for pages or a full. I suggest going down to Query Letter Hell and reading stickies down there, as well as reading and critiquing some of the query letters there. You will learn real fast what a query letter is all about. (I feel like doing one of those diabolical laughs about now, but I guess I'd better refrain). :D

Debbie V

Mentoring Myself and Others
Registered
Reaction score