Status
Not open for further replies.

Lilybiz

glad to be here
Registered
Reaction score
Website
petreaburchard.com
I posted this in Bewares, but thought it might also be useful here. I'm not an expert, but a couple of experts have posted responses to the thread there.

I was ordering Maestrowork's novel at my local (large) independent bookstore and happened to see a note taped near the register that said "Don't order from these publishers." From my perspective it was upside down so couldn't get them all, but three of them were Xlibris, iUniverse and 1st Books. I asked the clerk what would get a publisher on this list and she said they were usually POD or vanity publishers, and the store wouldn't order from them because they don't take returns or they're difficult to deal with.

Just a heads up on these publishers from one store. If it's their experience, it might be the same in other places, too.

maestrowork

Fear the Death Ray
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.amazon.com
I replied in the other thread, but here it is again:

All the book stores I talked to were only interested in three things: 1) Are the books returnable? 2) Is there a good discount (they expect at least 40%)? 3) Is it avialable through distributors/wholesalers like Ingram? If you can answer "yes" to all three questions, they would definitely consider it. If not, good luck.

yeyeman9

Registered
Reaction score
1st books is AuthourHouse isint it?

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com
i would hope that, by now, writers were fully aware that mainstream books stores will not carry most self-pubishing companies. If you look around you can find 'sleath' PODs the stores don't know about yet but on the whole it just aint gonna happen.

Lilybiz

glad to be here
Registered
Reaction score
Website
petreaburchard.com
yeyeman9 said:
1st books is AuthourHouse isint it?