Live and Learn

c.e.lawson

Registered
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to querying, doing it in small batches. I currently have two fulls out, one for a month and one for 2 weeks. In the interim of the one out longer, I received some unexpected feedback from a pitch contest where winners were paired with agented authors as mentors. I was chosen as an alternate, and my mentor generously gave me feedback anyway, which I didn't expect. She indicated some scenes needed trimming, and I've since cut about 2000 words from the MS and mildly changed a couple other things which I thought could be improved on that latest revision pass.

Of course I think I already know the answer to my question, but I will ask it anyway. Should I refrain from asking the first agent if she hasn't read the MS yet, would she want the new version? She was an editor for years with a big publisher prior to agenting, so that's why I'm particularly irritated at myself for possibly blowing this. The second agent has a mostly trimmed version that I'm okay with.

Thanks,

c.e.

amschilling

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.amschilling.com
You could say that based on agent feedback you received, you made some edits and, if they haven't yet had a chance to read the work, would they be interested in the updated version? I don't think most will be annoyed, though some might question why you sent out something that wasn't "ready." In this case I think there's more forgiveness, since it's because of professional recommendations versus "oopsie, I needed one more pass."

That's what I've heard, anyway. I'll be interested in what others say, since I'm considering it myself after some agent feedback on a full. I've got four others reading pages who I'd love to provide the updated MS to.

c.e.lawson

Registered
Reaction score