Is Adult POVs in YA Novel A Kiss Of Death?

twright

Registered
Reaction score
Someone raised the topic in the YA forum, about whether an adult POV is an automatic rejection in the YA market. I have a similar question that I wanted to put to agents (and editors).

I have a YA novel that has about 6 or 7 POVs, and at least half of them are adult. But even the adult POVs are about events and issues surrounding the MC. I've asked several of my beta readers whether they thought it really WAS a YA novel and so far the response (including a YA reader) was a unanimous yes...because the tone and flavor of the whole piece is consistently YA regardless of the POVs.

And yes, I know having that many POVs goes against all convention but let's assume for the sake of discussion that I'm a skillful enough writer to have pulled it off.

If, as far as agents and editors are concerned, adult POVs ARE the kiss of death, would it be pointless to market it as YA?

quicklime

all out of fucks to give
Banned
Reaction score
I'm not an agent, but skillful presentation may be immaterial--if you have such an ensemble that 70% of your book is "old people thinking about the teen" I'm not sure you can market it as YA.

I'm not saying you are at 70%, just saying all your many characters may force you out of YA regardless of "skill" if you can't kill a couple off.

What % of the book is the actual kid, versus all these grown-ups?
What do they truly bring and are they needed?

those two questions may help folks answer your initial question more fully.

twright

Registered
Reaction score
I'm not an agent, but skillful presentation may be immaterial--if you have such an ensemble that 70% of your book is "old people thinking about the teen" I'm not sure you can market it as YA.

I'm not saying you are at 70%, just saying all your many characters may force you out of YA regardless of "skill" if you can't kill a couple off.

What % of the book is the actual kid, versus all these grown-ups?