Building trust b/w characters

Status
Not open for further replies.

JuliePgh

Registered
Reaction score
Website
juliekcohen.com
Hi, I'm fairly new to writing Romance, and I'm having trouble building emotional trust between the H/h. The h comes from a background wherein she was emotionally abused. She's come to trust the H physically, but can't truly trust him in her heart, for fear that things will turn out the way they did with former lover.

So, I guess I'm looking for some examples of how others have achieved/ built trust between H/h, preferably over a short period.

Thank you!

kkbe

Huh.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
kkelliewriteme.wordpress.com
Context is everything. And definition: how do you define 'trust of the heart'? If I had to suggest something, I guess I'd say,

Try to put yourself in the shoes of your mc. She's guarding her heart because it was stomped on before. If you intend to have her trust her lover in short order, he can not be calloused, or indifferent. Instead, he must be keenly attuned to her uncertainty. He will tread lightly, allowing her time to acclimate to the idea that he loves her, he would never hurt her, he understands her, he's willing to wait. . .

But at every opportunity, he demonstrates his devotion. Not heavy-handedly, but in small ways. You can show this: a brief but gentle touch, a reassuring smile, a tender kiss. There are a myriad of ways he might do this, and every time he does, she feels a little less afraid because he makes her feel so and then, something *significant* happens, and she finds herself on the cusp: trust, or lose him; trust him, or lose herself--

Such would be my suggestion, if I were so bold as to offer such a thing. . .:)

Last edited:

SelmaW

Follow your heart; take your brain
Registered
Reaction score