PDA

View Full Version : Speed Reading Novels?

profen4
02-17-2013, 09:03 PM
I blogged about this today (http://stevewhibley.blogspot.ca/2013/02/if-you-cant-read-faster-than-cat-youre.html) but I thought I'd post the question here to have a bit of a dialogue in the topic: have any of you guys used speed reading techniques to get through novels faster? Do you find it counter productive to do so? Do you prefer, instead, to just take your time?

I wondered about this after a guy I know who works in the industry told me he often speed-reads manuscript submissions, and get's through novels in less than an hour. I wondered if he's missing anything.

I'm still pretty new to it (a couple years) and I'm not crazy fast; if I push myself I can just break 1000 wpm. Depending on what I'm reading, I can usually get all the major plot points and characters at that speed, but I do miss some of the intricacies and certainly miss out on some of the way the language is used.

Any speed-readers in the room? What are your experiences? Do you use the speed-reading skills for novels? I wonder if you can get good enough to burn through things and not miss anything. I would love it if that were the case. I have hundreds of books in my TBR pile and it grows by the hour.

Linda Adams
02-17-2013, 09:17 PM
I read very fast and can get through a non-fiction book in an hour. If that's a book I'm learning something from, I'll scan through it 3-4 more times.

Novels I'm a little slower with, but I still read them fast. My comprehension actually goes down if I read too slowly. I end up focusing on the words and lose track of the story.

Bufty
02-17-2013, 09:23 PM
Some folk naturally read faster than others. Doesn't mean they miss anything.

Some folk train themselves to read faster -speed read- and grasp salient points.