PDA

View Full Version : Creative Control

Papaya
02-09-2013, 09:10 AM
I've been working on my first novel for the last two years. Along the way, I've been considering what publishing route I want to take. I am of the mind that both traditional and self publishing are viable if the author is prepared to do the hard work required.

I've researched self versus traditional publishing quite a bit. There is a lot I don't like about how the publishing houses treat authors, even their stars, and it's all the more bleak for debut authors. Once you are established, you will at least be offered a decent deal, and your book will actually be marketed. So there's the money and marketing issue, but an even bigger concern I have is creative, as in, I want creative control.

Publishing houses have a nasty habit of stripping the heart right out of a story. From their point of view, the ideal manuscript is mainstream and will appeal to everyone which is typically a terrible recipe for good art and often makes for a flat, meaningless story. The problem is that as a debut author, it can be near impossible to maintain creative control when the publishing houses are looking for the next Twilight.

Until recently, I had no resources to spend on my book, so traditional publishing would have been the obvious choice. Since I've managed to find work again, things are starting to change, and once I get caught up on a few things, I will actually have some money freed up to spend on my book. So I can hire a professional editor, and so on, if I want to SP. I work as an independent contractor for an online marketing company, and I have also been doing search engine optimization for years, so I have those resources available to me when/if the time comes.

Okay, so that's the background. I guess what I'm wanting to know is, if you were in my shoes, what would you do?

cornflake
02-09-2013, 09:18 AM