Any psychologists here?

breaking_burgundy

Registered
Reaction score
One of my characters in the portal fantasy novel is forced to see a psychologist. However, since my only knowledge of how a therapy session works comes from There's a Boy in the Girl's Bathroom, I thought I should learn something about what these sessions look like in the real world.

I do have a cousin who is a psychologist, but I don't think she knows I'm a writer, and I'm somewhat embarrassed to ask what a therapy session with my fictional character would look like.

Is there anyone here who could give me advice?

Kerosene

Your Pixie Queen
Registered
Reaction score
Call up your cousin. She can give you a lot of the particulars, and hell, lead you through the process for that character.

Related to your question, it depends on what kind of psychologist the character is seeing and why. They can go for 1 on 1 therapy sessions for months on end, or a quick session with a psychiatrist to get prescribed drugs, or go to group therapy for a short to long time.
Why is your character going for?

haunted

Now is the winter of my discontent.
Registered
Reaction score
I've had therapy, what do you want to know? LOL

Last edited:

breaking_burgundy

Registered
Reaction score
One on one therapy sessions. No drugs.

The thing is, I don't even know what kinds of questions to ask. Would a therapist outright say things like "Do you think you have trust issues?" or "I think you need to _____." And do they actually make you re-enact traumatic events or ask you to have imaginary conversations with people?

Mostly, what I'm trying to get at is whether psychologists are direct about their observations/recommendations, or do they try to be less direct so the patients can figure stuff out on their own?

Also, I imagine they try to be unbiased, but that's not always as easy as it sounds.

WriteKnight

Arranger Of Disorder
Registered
Reaction score
30,000 light years from Galactic Central Point.
What brings you in here?