PDA

View Full Version : expungement and pardons (US)

melindamusil
01-21-2013, 01:44 AM
If you commit a crime and the records are later expunged, can those records be viewed or accessed by an FBI agent if you become a suspect in a crime?

What about sealed juvenile records?

If you're granted a pardon by a governor/president, does that "eliminate" your criminal record, or can people still see you were convicted of a crime?

(This would be in the United States.)

Trying to find something in a character's background that would create a "flag" on his record. Thankfully I've never been convicted of anything worse than a speeding ticket, so I have no experience with this!

jclarkdawe
01-21-2013, 04:04 AM
Criminal records are not expunged. They are annulled. Once you change to the correct word, you'll answer a lot of your questions.

If you commit a crime and the records are later expunged, can those records be viewed or accessed by an FBI agent if you become a suspect in a crime? Yep. Even if you're found not guilty, your arrest will pop up on the computer.

What about sealed juvenile records? Depends, and the details won't be as easily found. Probably a court order will be necessary to see the entire record.

If you're granted a pardon by a governor/president, does that "eliminate" your criminal record, or can people still see you were convicted of a crime? A pardon forgives you for the crime. It doesn't remove it. Depending upon the level of the pardon depends upon the level of how available is the information. Pardons come in several different flavors, from dropping a portion of the sentence to all of the sentence to a pardon from all the consequences of committing a crime.