Thoughts about formatting print books

Status
Not open for further replies.

MaggieDana

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.maggiedana.com
Today, I was formatting an e-book for a client and trying not to tear my hair out over her sweet-natured ignorance of Word’s style features that sent the whole project into an e-meltdown. (This is a whole other subject for another thread: Authors Who Abuse Microsoft Word; conversely, there could be an even more interesting thread about how MS Word abuses authors!)

So, when this e-project came to a grinding halt (I have a phone date scheduled with client to discuss solutions for formatting issues), I switched gears and began doing page layout for my latest print book. And I was reminded, yet again, what a time-consuming, futzy process it is, and how confusing it must be for newcomers.

I’ve been doing print-book layout professionally for 30+ years, for Big-6 pubs and a few smaller ones, as well as my own, both fiction and trade non-fiction. I’d like to say I can do it with my eyes closed, but that would be stretching credulity … just a bit.

Print book production is not ‘push-button’ technology. Never mind what the tub-thumpers tell you, it is a craft and it takes time to learn, much like plumbing, dressage (I’m a horsewoman), and being a journeyman electrician. I would not want to trust my home’s electrical system to a noob who’d ginned up for a couple of weeks via a Dummies’ book and a LEGO circuitry board. And, OK, to forestall those who’ll jump in and say having a wonky print book is not in the same league as having faulty wiring, I will agree. I’m just making an analogy here about professionals who learn their craft and charge others accordingly for their expertise.