First Attempt Cover Critique

JayneFowler

Registered
Reaction score
Okay, so I would like to attempt to create my own cover if at all possible (though I would prefer to put the money I would have used to hire a designer into professional editing). I'm playing around with some ideas, but can't seem to figure out exactly what I want.

The story itself is YA and centered around people with superpowers, called "Irregulars." The main character is a girl who can turn her skin into metal. I did my best (and spent many, many nights working into the wee hours trying to learn to use GIMP) to make her skin look like it was made of steel.

This is my first attempt at making my own cover and I have no design background (that, and I'm insanely nervous about this) so bear with me. I would really appreciate any input that might help me move in a more professional-looking direction. In particular, I had a lot of trouble trying to decide how to position the text, and in the end I kind of just gave up.

Thanks!

PossibleCover.png

sunandshadow

Impractical Fantasy Animal
Registered
Reaction score
Website
home.comcast.net
If the title is Irregular you could have some fun positioning it in an irregular way, like maybe a zigzag, or one letter tipping over/falling off. Maybe in a more 3D metallic font.

This skin makes me think a bot more of silver than steel, but it does look metallic. Steel, being a harder metal, holds a smoother surface than silver, and has stronger differences between highlighted regions and shadow regions. Also her lips probably wouldn't be red, but a darker metal color, unless the point is that it's lipstick on top of metal? In which case I'd imagine there would be eyeshadow on top of the metal too?? If you want to keep the bright red lips you might want to balance that out with the title's color and/or the color of the eyes or some eye makeup.

Kerosene

Your Pixie Queen
Registered
Reaction score