The Canadian market

IkhlasHussain

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a Canadian writer, and my manuscript contains a lot of issues/themes that pertain to Canadian culture and understanding of multiculturalism.

I'm searching for Canadian agents to submit to, but I'm not having very much luck. My question, then, is that does it matter if I get a Canadian agent? Or will an American agent still be able to sell to a Canadian publisher to ensure that the book reaches the intended audience?

My concern is that the Canadian publishing scene is VERY different from the American one, and yet, I can't seem to find very many Canadian agents listed in my genre (general fiction/multiculturalism) to be able to represent my work. I've checked Query Tracker so far, and am now looking on AgentQuery, but there doesn't seem to be a region filter on AgentQuery. Is there anywhere else I should be looking for agents?

If anyone has any thoughts or ideas on this, it would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Undercover

I got it covered
Registered
Reaction score
Off the top of my head The Cooke Agency is one Canadian Literary Agency: http://www.cookeagency.ca/contact.htm

I think if you get a U.S. agent they would use the foreign rights commission (usually 20%) but I am not 100% sure on that. The Publisher's Marketplace is another good site to search for agents. In an advanced search, you can see if you can find Canadian agents that way too. Good luck with it.

willietheshakes

Gentleman. Scholar. Bastard.
Registered
Reaction score
The Cooke Agency, TLA, McDermid & Assoc., Denise Bukowski, Helen Heller, Westwood, Carolyn Swayze, Beverly Slopen...

And no, you don't NEED a Canadian agent to sell in Canada, but as you say, it's a very different market.

Bushrat

reaching for the sun
Registered
Reaction score
There's a book called "The Canadian Writer's Market" that lists many agencies.