Any Carpenters About?

randi.lee

Certified Non-Genius
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.rlwrites.com
I hope this is the right place to post this...

One of my characters is a carpenter. I've been doing a lot of research on the subject. However, I can't seem to find a clear answer to a somewhat basic question: why is it important (if it even is important) to finish natural wood?

Any direction is most appreciated!

Filigree

Mildly Disturbing
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cranehanabooks.com
Not a carpenter, but I've had some experience. Depends on the wood type. Some woods like cypress and teak can safely weather without finishing, while others begin to decay without protection. Having even just an oil finish sets up a barrier between the wood pores and the outside air, water, bug, fungal, and bacterial incursions. Makes the wood object last longer, especially if it is exposed to outside weather conditions.

Even indoor pieces benefit from proper treatment, especially if they are moved from a high-humidity area to a low-humidity area - when the wood dries out too much, it can crack.

frimble3

Heckuva good sport
Registered
Reaction score
Like Filigree, I'm not a carpenter. But my father was. Aside from weathering and preservation, finishing a wood surface protects whatever you put on the surface after the stuff is spilled: the nice dry paper you put on a damp table will get damp from contact (and wood holds water so very well), the sewing you put on the table after dinner will pick up traces of grease or other food that remains in the grain of the wood.
And, finishing (planing, and sanding, as well as oiling or waxing) makes the wood less likely to splinter or snag a passerby.

Drachen Jager

Professor of applied misanthropy
Registered
Reaction score
Also not a carpenter, though I did apprentice as a carpenter for a summer, and my father is an avid amateur carpenter and I dabble myself.